Re: Are humans kosher?

TIBEC (Tibec@btinternet.com)
Thu, 23 Jan 1997 12:55:33 -0000

Bill Bickel asked:
> No, I'm not thinking in terms of orthodox cannibals. But...
> At Chanukah, my mother-in-law and aunt delight in telling everybody how,
> when they were younger, they ground potatoes for latkes with a grater,
> and never went through a batch without bleeding into the batter at least
> once.
> This is a very appealing thing to listen to before a meal, but the point
> is: Would this blood -- or even the possibility of human blood -- render
> the latkes non-kosher?

The answer is that the prohibition of consuming blood does not apply to
human blood: therefore one is allowed to swallow blood from bleeding gums.
(Shulchan Aruch - Yore De'ah 66.10) There is however an issur of Mar'as
Ho'ayin (doing a misleading action) where the blood has separated from its
source and remains visible.

Yakov Schonberg
London, England