Re: Four Levels of understanding Torah
Fri, 23 May 1997 00:27:27 EDT

In reply to:
>Please enlighten a very eager but not yet well-educated Jew as to
>what the "four levels" are/mean?
> Pshat=simple interpretation
> Remez=hint
> Drush=homiletical interpretation
> Sod=mystical interpretation.

These are four levels of understanding of any Biblical verse. The first
letter of each spell out PRDS [Pardes - orchard] and you may see that word
substituted for the explicit listing.